Wyoming Geological Awards

To read about the award click on the title below


Distinguished Service Award Frank A. Morgan Award
Best Speaker Award  

Distinguished Service Award

The Wyoming Geological Association Distinguished Service Award is presented to a member who has distinguished himself or herself in singular and beneficial long term service to the Association, profession, and community or nation.

Only one member of the Wyoming Geological Association may be considered for this award in any one year. Only regular members and honorary life members may be considered for this award. Associate members shall be ineligible under any condition. This award is not an annual award by necessity or definition.

The purpose for issuing this award is to recognize the long term as well as meaningful service of the member to the Association. It is not necessary that a single event without precedent is the basis of this award. The activity should be specific as distinguished from general service as membership on numerous committees.

Nominations for this award shall be submitted by any member or honorary member of the Association and/or by members of the Executive Committee as a whole. The nominations may be submitted during any part of the officer term of any single year. All nominations should be accompanied by proper documentation showing the basis for the nomination. All nominations will be considered by the Executive Committee as a whole. The Executive Committee will make the final selection for the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award.

This award shall be a plaque with the Wyoming Geological Association emblem and the recipient’s name, the date of presentation, and the title: “Distinguished Service Award.”

This award was established by executive action on May 12, 1977.
1978 —William H. Curry
1979 —Donald L. Blackstone, Jr.
1980 —J. David Love
1986 —William H. (Skip) Curry III
1991 —Lynette George
1992 —Donald F. Cardinal
1996 —Wallace W. Stewart
1999 —Gene R. George
2002 —Rick Marvel
2004 —W. Dan Hausel
2006 —Arnold Woods
2007 —Russell Hawley
2008---Sandy DeFry
2011---Tom Anderson
2012---Martha Horn
2013---Dave Foster
2014---Gary Winter
2015---Alvis L Lisenbee

Frank A Morgan Award


The Frank A. Morgan Award has been presented annually for the past 54 years. This award is the most coveted honor in the Wyoming Geological Association, and has been made possible through the generosity of one of our members, the late Frank A. Morgan.
Selection of the person to receive this award shall be based on the person’s contribution or  work performed toward the fulfillment of the major objective of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, which is “...to promote the science of Geology, especially as it relates to petroleum and natural gas; to promote the technology of petroleum and natural gas and to encourage improvements in the methods of exploring for and exploiting these substances; to foster the spirit of scientific research among its members; to disseminate facts relating to the geology and technology of petroleum and gas.” This is to include achievement in the exploration and development of all energy minerals such as bituminous shales and sands, coal uranium, thorium, and other substances remaining to be discovered in this field.

1953- Donald L. Blackstone, Jr.

1988- Nancy M. Doelger


1954- William S. “Bill” McCabe

1989- W. Roger Miller


1955- Myron D. Hubley

1990- Jimmy Goolsby


1956- Creighton A. Burk

1991- Kent Sundell


1957- James A. Barlow, Jr.

1992- Ronald A. Baugh


1958- John Strickland

1993-Terry Miller


1959- Thomas W. Bibb, Jr.

1994- Arnold Woods


1960- John Partridge, Jr.

1994- Ronald Surdam


1961- Edmund L. Hiesey

1996- Mark Doelger


1962- William R. Keefer

1997- John F. Trotter


1963- John B. Carrier

1998- Steve Kirkwood


1964- Jack M. Delong

1999- Gary A. Winter


1965- Don E. Lawson

2000- Carleton S. Babb


1966- William A. Sears

2001- Roy H. Guess 


1967- David A. Bentzin

2002- Randi S. Martinsen


1968- Jerry F. Davis

2003- Andrew K. Finley


1969- Bernard E. “Ben” Weichman

2004- no award issued


1970- Alan J. May

2005- no award issued


1971-  William J. “Bill” Guy, Jr.

2006- no award issued


1972- William H. “Skip” Curry, III

2007- John S. Wold


1973- Earl Hegna

2009- James Brown


1974- John S. Runge

2010-Chris E. Mullen


1975- Wallace W. Stewart

2011- Mark Milliken


1976- John R. Kearns

2012-Tim McCutcheon


1977- Donald F.Cardinal

2013-No award issued


1978- no award issued

2014-Don Cardinal

1979- Jim Hunter

2015-Stephen A. Sonnenberg

1980- Gene George

1981- W. W. Boberg

1982- Daniel Miller

1983- Ralph Specht

1984- Herbert D. Waterman

1985- Lynette George

1986- Steven G. Reid

1987- Eric Potter


Best Speaker Award


For the best presentation and talk by a Wyoming Geological Association member at the noon program.

1958 Harvey F. Beasley, Consultant

1959 Edward R. McAuslan, Union Pacific Railroad Company

1960 D. N. Miller, Jr., Consultant

1961 Donald W. Paape, Pan American Petroleum Corporation

1962 Robert J. Weimer, Colorado School of Mines

1963 George R. Wulf, Pan American Petroleum Corporation

1964 Henry L. Ott, California Oil Company

1965 Donald Asquith, California Oil Company

1966 Charles S. Tenney, Consultant

1967 Richard A. Harnett, Amerada Petroleum Corporation

1968 Ruffin I. Rackley, Teton Exploration Company

1969 Donald S. Stone, Baumgartner Oil Company

1970 Edward R. McAuslan, Union Pacific Railroad Company

1971 Dane “Duke” Picard, University of Utah

1972 Marvin A. Keller, Rainbow Resources, Inc.

1973 Art Renfro, Teton Exploration Company

1974 Gene R. George, Consultant

1975 William H. Curry, Consultant

1976 Patrick D. Maher, Energetics, Inc.

1977 Tim Schowalter, Kirkwood Oil & Gas Company

1978 Bob Wellborn, Burton-Hawks, Inc.

1979 Tim Schowalter, Kirkwood Oil & Gas Company

1980 Woody Herrod, Marathon Oil Company

1981 Nancy Doelger, Gulf Oil Company

 Janice Patterson-Wittstrom, Gulf Oil Company

1982 David Beach, Marathon Oil Company

1983 W. W. Boberg

1984 Kent Sundell, Ram Oil Company, Inc.

         Roger Matson

1985 W. Richard Moore

1986 James E. McClurg, University of Wyoming

1987 Peter Huntoon, University of Wyoming

1988 Kent Sundell, Ram Oil Company, Inc./Absaroka Exploration

1989 Peter Huntoon, University of Wyoming

1990 Richard Furner, Conoco

1991 Arnold Woods, Conoco

1992 Peter Huntoon, University of Wyoming Dept. Geology & Geoph.

1993 No award given

1994 Tim McCutcheon, Barlow & Haun

1995 Michael Borah, Borah-Borah Petroleum, Inc.

1996 Ronald A. Baugh, Associated Energy Consultants, LLC

1997 Lawrence A. McPeek, Consultant

1998 John P. Albanese, Consultant

1999 Andrew K. Finley, Goolsby & Associates

2000 Al Allen, Curator, Tate Museum

2001 Gene R. George, Gene R. George & Associates

2002 Neil H. Humphrey, University of Wyoming

2003 Jim Lightner, Tom Brown, Inc.

2004 Stephen R. Kneller

2005  Randi Martinsen, University of Wyoming

2006 Russell Hawley,Tate Museum

2007 Jim Steidtman

2008 Steve Morzenti

2009  David Wheeler

2010 Chris Mullen, Elk Petroleum

2011 Gene George, Gene George and Associates

2012 Phillip Nickerson, University of Arizona
2013 Aaron Otteman, Wold Oil Properties

2014Paul Heller, University of Wyoming

2015Rick Bonander, Inter-Mountain Pipe & Threading Co